Skip to main content

Answer project

Banner home

University of Macedonia

The University of Macedonia (UoM; Greek: Πανεπιστήμιο Μακεδονίας (Πα.Μακ.), Panepistímio Makedonías (Pa.Mak.) is a public research university in Thessaloniki, Macedonia, Greece. It is a modern institution, renowned for the quality, freedom, democracy, meritocracy and individual development it provides to its members.

Founded as School of Higher Industrial Studies of Thessaloniki (in Greek: Ανώτατη Βιομηχανική Σχολή Θεσσαλονίκης) in 1948 and started its first operation during the academic year 1957–1958, it is the second largest university in the city (following the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki). It currently consists of eight departments which deal mainly with social, political, economic sciences and Information Technology.

The language of instruction is Greek, although there are programs in foreign languages,courses and for international and local students, carried out in English, French, German, Italian, Turkish, Russian, Serbian, Bulgarian and Arabic.

156 Egnatia Street, GR-546 36 Thessaloniki, Greece
+30 2310 891.101